Eat like an Egyptian: Foul Eskandandy

The Joneseseseses family trip to Sharm El Sheikh was delightful. Despite Phil being stung by a “harmless” (so said the locals) jellyfish, we all came home unscathed – some of us browner than others.

We stayed at the Grand Rotana resort and enjoyed a daily breakfast buffet despite a source of great consternation: foul eskandandy.

Now, having conducted some online research, I’ve learned that “foul” refers to beans. Apparently brown fava beans are a staple of the Egyptian diet. However, searches for “foul eskandandy” (and a variety of alternate spellings) have failed me. To this day, we will never know what it was as Mark refused to eat it.

Actually, we only saw one Russian woman eat it. It looked and smelled a bit like chilli – why one would choose this for breakfast I don’t know – but I cannot verify its contents.

Has anyone ever heard of foul eskandandy before? If you’ve actually eaten it, please comment with a detailed description of taste/texture/ingredients… curiosity is killing me!!!

13 Responses to Eat like an Egyptian: Foul Eskandandy

  1. markandapril says:

    I think it was ‘Eskandarany’ – but I might be wrong.

    I’d like to point out that it was pretty much the only thing I didn’t eat all week. I think I put around half a stone on in two weeks, thanks mainly to the delicious food in Egypt.

  2. Edwin says:

    Oh, age must be catching up with me. For the entire time we were in Egypt I supposed to myself that Foul Eskanwhateveritmaybe was some sort of spiced poultry dish that I would barely consider eating in the evening, let alone the morning.

    Only now do I realise that all along it was Foul, and not Fowl. Shame on me!

  3. markandapril says:

    I always assumed ‘foul’ was a description of the taste, rather than the ingredients, so it’s enlightening to learn that it is in fact beans.

  4. camelqueen says:

    I looked at this delicious? dish every day and thought it said Foul Eskandary. Many times I lifted the lid and peered at the simmering contents – I couldn’t identify ANYTHING in the dish – not even the Foul!!

    Anyway, are you going to call this site 2plus3is5 after tomorrow?

  5. markandapril says:

    Hmm, hadn’t thought about that. I guess we won’t change it because, if we do, we’ll have to get into the habit of changing it every time there’s a new family addition – and given the rate at which we tend to accumulate new responsibilities, that could be a scary prospect.

    I think it’s neat to remember the snapshot in time when this website started, just April and I and the cats.

    And it definitely didn’t say ‘Eskandary’, that’s just how we all kept mispronouncing it because it was easier to say. At least, that’s what I think.

  6. markandapril says:

    I wonder if Romeo eats the Foul Eskandandry?

  7. markandapril says:

    Who or what is Romeo, April?

    Mark

  8. Pete says:

    Anything here help:

    Most Egyptians begin their day, every day, with beans—foul madamis, if not the national dish, is at least the national breakfast. Dried broad beans are boiled all night in large, cylindrical copper pots, tightly closed, over an extremely low fire. By dawn these pots have been delivered to every kiosk and restaurant in town, including luxury hotels like the Sheraton and Hilton. The foul madamis is ladled out into thousands of small pots and plates and simply dressed with olive oil and lemon. Ta’miyah, another popular bean dish, is made of peeled broad beans pounded to a paste with the leaves of leeks, parsley, coriander, plus coriander seeds, red pepper and much garlic, then dropped by spoonfuls into boiling oil for a few seconds and eaten hot. Biting into the crisp brown crust of ta’miyah—called falafil in the rest of the Arab world—reveals a heart that is bright green from all those leaves. A duller, pea-green is bisara, a kind of porridge made of dried green beans, boiled with onions, garlic, oil and butter and flavored with leek, mint, dill, coriander and parsley.

  9. markandapril says:

    Fantastic! Great research job Pete, at last it seems the riddle of the Eskandarany has been solved.

    I had a falafel burger when we were over there too, and it looked practicaly nuclear inside. Tasted great though.

    Mark

  10. April says:

    Romeo is of course “Romeo Ramadan” – the guy who cleaned your mom and dad’s room and left your mom a rose!!!

  11. mimi says:

    Hi
    do you have nice photo from the hotel and the people working thier .
    please look at my site to see the picture from a person

    i need to know if there is still other people they are cheating in that hotel to help me on my legal case

    ps;you can buy foul evry where where arabic shops

    thanks
    mimi

  12. Ola says:

    well it’s “foul es-kan-da-ra-ny”
    foul = beans
    eskandarany refering to ALEXANDRIA in egypt as the recipe came from
    and by the way it’s very delicious
    the ingredients are…beans, tomatos, onions,garlic, cumin, lemon, hims…and some parsely…and may be some black olives…and some secret ingredients defer from person to another
    but really u gotta try some

Leave a Reply

