Mark#32 – Ultimate Fighting

In the last couple of years I’ve become I huge fan of the UFC (Ultimate Fighting Championship). I’m quite lucky in that April encourages me to watch the events, whereas I think a lot of women would refuse to sit through a UFC event with their other half on account of the violence and brutality of it all.

But what makes Mixed Martial Arts an interesting spectacle for me isn’t the anticipation of seeing limbs get broken, heads get split open and guys taking 12 consecutive elbows to the head. What I enjoy is the precision of it all – the technique and the skill that is required in order to avoid defeat (or serious injury). It is a sport where a split-second can be the difference between victory and defeat (if you don’t believe me, CLICK HERE). 

Long gone are the days where they would put two guys in the Octagon who had no skill but would just beat the daylights out of each other. The fighters in the UFC are, by and large, extremely dedicated professional athletes who are well versed in boxing, wrestling, ju-jitsu, muay thai, kickboxing, Brazilian street-fighting, judo, or a whole host of other fighting disciplines. Many of them have been international champions are their preferred style, and have then looked to add other styles to their technique in order to compete well in the UFC.

Anyway, rather than giving a sermon on what the UFC is and why I love it, I just wanted to put a couple of highlight reels about the two latest fighters to join the UFC – neither of whom I know much about.

Mirko Cro Cop is Croat and, from seeing this highlight video, looks like his high kicks are going to be dangerous.

And Quinton ‘Rampage’ Jackson just looks explosive. Big slams, big punches, big aggression, big chain round his neck – exactly what UFC fans love to see. Rampage is the only guy who has beaten current UFC light heavyweight champ, Chuck ‘The Iceman’ Liddell, that Chuck hasn’t since come back and avenged – so this should be a great addition to the UFC.

Finally, CLICK HERE if you want to read my brief recap of the most recent UFC event, UFC 66 that took place on New Years Eve

21 Responses to Mark#32 – Ultimate Fighting

  1. gooders says:

    Hmmmm. Whether its high precision or low precision or whether they’re highly trained or just some fat blokes, it’s still 2 guys trying to hurt the other guy so badly that he either quits or goes to hospital. isn’t it?

  2. Bongo says:

    Thats certainly one way of putting it!! Who would we all most like to see fight each other within Thornham?

    Luke ‘Ewok’ Simpson v Sparky the Jedi?

  3. Mark J says:

    Personally I’d pay good money to see Jake ‘The Royton Rat’ Rowson versus a brown paper bag.

    The bag would start as odds-on favourite.

    Mark.

  4. Pete says:

    Hmmm… I seem to recall somebody asking for suggested New Years Challenges. April, how cool would it be if the old pot and pan was the UFC champ??

    Am currently in contract-haggling stage with a hagwon (private English school) in Seoul – could be Korea-bound by Feb 6. Stay tuned. Or rather, I’ll let you know.

  5. Mark J says:

    I actually asked April how she would feel if I took up ju-jitsu. She was comprehensively AGAINST it. Not that I have any inclination to become a fighter, but I thought it would be a good way to get (and keep) fit, and also it would help give me an understanding of the entire submissions side to MMA. This is important if I am to become the number one commentator on the sport when events start being hosted in the UK.

    As for my New Year Challenges, well I was actually discussing this with April yesterday and I think I am getting close to finalising the list. So far I have:

    1) Appear on TV
    2) Write a book or short story
    3) Do a skydive
    4) Join Mensa

    Now the wheels are already in motion to appear on TV as me and Gooooooders had an audition for Sudo-Q (naff TV gameshow) the other day, so hopefully that will come off. I am currently conducting research for a book or short story. I will wait until the summer until doing a skydive. I have done some sample Mensa and IQ tests and have scored in the ‘very superior’ category every time – I believe this is the highest category you can get in.

    So I’m well on the way already, but I still need a fifth and final challenge.

  6. Bongo says:

    Keep me informed on the sky dive! Its the best thing ever, I wanna do another one!

    Your fifth and final challenge! I think you should join this chick who’s been in the news by eating only carrotts for a month to see if she turns orange! Maybe try eating only beetroot for a month and see what colour you turn out!

  7. Mark J says:

    Can’t do that. Not a fan of beetroot. Plus a month without bacon would be torture. I suppose I could do a month where I only eat bacon, but that would probably kill me.

    Mark.

  8. Jake says:

    I’ve watched Ultimate Fighting a number of times now and ULTIMATELY the bouts end up boring me to tears…credit to those guys who partake..they’re clearly skilful in many different fields but it always ends up with two guys rolling around the floor for 10 mins trying to choke each other. I would much prefer to see these guys doing it proper an having no-holds barred fist fights, with headbutts allowed too. rrrghhhh…now what you looking at fool !

  9. markandapril says:

    Jake, come round to mine and watch UFC 66 (which I Sky Plussed the other day). No boring rolling on the floor matches there — it’s pure vicious knockouts all the way. Great fun!

    Mark.

  10. The Thinking Man's number 8 says:

    What kind of a book are you going to write? I have often thought i would like to write a book. Apparently, everyone has a book in them…..

    Baldrick: Perhaps your book really isn’t any good.

    Edmund: Oh, codswallop! It’s taken me seven years, and it’s perfect. “Edmund:

    A Butler’s Tale” — a giant rollercoaster of a novel in four hundred

    sizzling chapters. A searing indictment of domestic servitude in the

    eighteenth century, with some hot gypsies thrown in. My magnum opus,

    Baldrick. Everybody has one novel in them, and this is mine.

    Baldrick: And this is mine (takes a small piece of paper from the front of his

    trousers). My magnificent octopus.

    Edmund: (takes it) This is your novel, Baldrick? (unfolds it)

    Baldrick: Yeah — I can’t stand long books.

    Edmund: (reads) “Once upon a time, there was a lovely little sausage

    called `Baldrick’, and it lived happily ever after.”

    Baldrick: It’s semi-autobiographical.

    Edmund: And it’s completely utterly awful. Dr. Johnson will probably love it.

  11. markandapril says:

    Ha ha, well they say that every author starts out with something at least semi-autobiographical.

    I have a few different ideas that I’m toying with at the moment, but one in particular that I’m considering quite seriously.

    None of them involve sausages.

    Mark.

  12. gooders says:

    Sparky go to http://www.blogger.com or http://www.wordpress.com and register with one of those and start your very own blog. It doesn’t take more than about 10 minutes per week just to post 1 message per week. It’s a great way to start writing for an audience. Just use it to log your thoughts. I reckon you’ve got some good stuff to offload and a blog would be a great place for it.

  13. gooders says:

    challenge no.5:
    draw a circle on the pavement outside your house and stay in it for a whole week only leaving for toilet breaks. Food must be brought to you and consumed in the circle. No bathing, no coming indoors to sleep. I’m sure you’d end up having fun and it would get in the paper and maybe on TV if you did a charity aspect to it.

    I’d come and point and laugh at you and bring you food during the day.

  14. Jake says:

    Challenge No.5 erm… Play in the Premier League, get a call-up to the England squad, become the new face of Dolce Gabbana…or as Luke quite rightly put it to me last night… challenge no. 5 for you should be STOP BEING SUCH A SMUG **** …we were only joking pal… but honestly, someone who didn’t know you as well as I do could be forgiven for thinking your a little big-headed after reading your blog entries

  15. markandapril says:

    That’s a fairly damning indictment there, Rowson.

    I’d be interested to find out what entries/comments in particular are reeking of big-headedness so I can learn from my mistakes.

  16. Jake says:

    I was particularly referring to the sample MENSA test you have done Mr Very Superior.

    I’ve got a title for your (first) autobiography… The Importance of Self-Importance

    He he… see you tomorrow (you can give me a smack then)

  17. I had a feeling you’d be referring to the Mensa thing. But I’m honestly not sure how that relates to big-headedness.

    Joining Mensa is one of the challenges, so it made sense that I mention it in my list of challenges. And as I was updating readers on my progress towards each challenge, it stands to reason that I’d mention that I’ve been doing sample tests.

    I agree that the term ‘Very Superior’ sounds ridiculously pretentious, but that is IQ terminology and not mine.

    I only ever feel ‘very superior’ when I’m hanging out with you!

  18. gooders says:

    tzing!

  19. small dog picture

    News about small dog picture.

  20. goodersnew says:

    you got spammed!

  21. Life

    Intresting information about 2plus2is4wordpresscom.

Leave a Reply

