Mark#28 – New Year Challenges

I just read THIS STORY about a guy who set himself five New Year ‘challenges’ instead of resolutions.

His 2006 challenges were to:

1) Appear on TV

2) Meet someone who has starred in a computer game

3) Start a celebrity-signed teabag collection

4) Break a world record (for eating most brussel sprouts in a minute)

5) Fly in a helicopter.

I think this is a totally neat idea!

I never bother with resolutions because I know that they’ll be forgotten by the time February rolls around. The concept of establishing clear objectives to be achieved in a defined time period is much more up my alley – my competitive instincts just won’t allow me to resist a challenge like this. Plus, it’s fun of course, especially because I can challenge myself to do some of the things that I always say I want to do, but never actually do.

So I’ve decided I’m going to set myself five challenges for 2007.

Any suggestions?

7 Responses to Mark#28 – New Year Challenges

  1. Pete says:

    Hahaha you said “teabag”.

    BASE jump, says I.

  2. markandapril says:

    I know, I could think of a much more fun challenge that includes celebrities and teabags.

    Mark.

  3. gooders says:

    this video shows the best thing you can do with a teabag

  4. markandapril says:

    I would argue that making a brew is a better use of a teabag.

    Mark.

  5. Nutty says:

    Run to become a local MP

  6. April says:

    Buy your wife a pair of Christian Louboutins?

  7. Pete says:

    I started laughing but quickly stopped, realizing I have no idea who Christian Labadabado is.

    In 2007, Mark, you should cause an international incident. That’s always been one of my goals, to be the trigger for a modern-day Don Pacifico incident. It’s challenging, but so is becoming an avenging angel slash hitman like Jean Reno in “Leon”, another item on my list of things to do. I think I’m just procrastinating… Hang in there, kitty!

    April – some of the giant old trees in Stanley Park were knocked down while BC was getting jerseyed by Mother Nature last week. How to get those titanic trunks and branches out of the middle of a major city? Interfor is going to lend Vancouver these kickass choppers:

    http://www.avrosys.nu/aircraft/Heli/504HKP4.htm

    to haul them through the sky! Patio space will be at a premium.

    Oh, and that old-school KGB mole we caught five weeks ago? Made the mistake of stirring it up with the legendary mounties, was Ivan’s problem. Our national security apparatus finally got him to admit that he’s… um…, well, a Russian. Apparently, after getting that vital information we’re now going to just send him on home to Putin. Let that be a lesson: don’t mess with Canada, beyotchski!

Leave a Reply

