Mark#25 – A Couple of Aussie Beauties

I was driving home from Leeds just a couple of hours ago, listening to Edith Bowman on Radio 1, and thinking to myself that Edith’s is my least favourite of the Radio 1 shows.

It seems I spoke, or at least thought, too soon. Because barely two minutes later she launched into her topic for the day, which just so happened to be my favourite topic…80s TV theme tunes!

Kudos to whichever listener texted in to request the theme from a show that I had COMPLETELY forgotten about….Round the Twist:

Obviously this set me off thinking about all the Australian shows I used to watch – Neighbours, Home and Away, Heartbreak High – all which were good, but none of which have a theme tune like this cracker: 

Not many people I chat to have ever heard of Pugwall, but in a nutshell it was about a guy (Peter Unwin George Wall) and his pals who were trying to turn their garage band into something bigger and better, but were constantly foiled by their own ineptitude and the interference of Pugwall’s little sister, Marmaloid.

My bro and I used to watch it religiously, and can still recite all the lyrics to this day.  

“Mar-ma-loid!!”

7 Responses to Mark#25 – A Couple of Aussie Beauties

  1. Pete says:

    Here’s a classic from 1990… Bombalurina! Went to #1 last time I was over in Blighty. Utterly brilliant. Bleurgh.

  2. dude, I too was only thinking the other day that edit boman’s show is full on bob!
    She just can’t connect with listeners or phone-in people and she says everything is really really awesome or really really something else. I don’t like exaggeration in general and she does it all the time.

    BUT THERE’S MORE. My own personal internet stalker is scottish and she left me a voicemail message the day and it sounds like edith boman. Anyway, I uploaded the voicemail, check it out here:
    http://www.yonner.co.uk/yonner-blog/325/love-n-huggles-voicemail

    p.s. your youtube vids didn’t show up for me this time. I’ll try again tomorrow

  3. markandapril says:

    Vids should be showing now dude.

    Hmm…I wonder if April and I will ever get an Internet stalker? I sincerely hope not. I’ve had a couple of real life stalkers and, whilst it’s amusing and mildly flattering at first, it does tend to get a bit scary.

    I’ll write a post about “Wiggy” one day – she was my very first stalker. I just have to make sure there is no way it could get back to her if I did write something, because I’d face a real problem I suspect.

    And, Pete, excellent call on Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny Yellow Polka Dot Bikini (that she wore for the first time today). Timmy Mallett (the bloke in the video) was a kids TV character in the 80s and presented Wack-a-Day, which I think just about every British child used to watch religiously. He’s most famous for his big foam hammer, or Mallett’s Mallet, as it was called.

    Whenever I see the Little Britain character, Des Kay, I always think he must be based loosely on Timmy Mallett.

    If David Walliams or Matt Lucas is reading this, perhaps you could confirm if this is true?

    Mark.

  4. Pete says:

    I can ony see yer youtubes today, but man, Pugwell ROCKS. Nearly as hard as The Zit Remedy (patriotic Degrassi shout-out).

    I remember watching Wack-a-Day, vaguely – one of the stranger British kids’ programs, which isn’t saying much.

    Though if the real Rainbow was anywhere near as good as the ‘adult’ episode…

    Seem to recall Mallett having clubbed Maggie Thatcher, as well, but damned if I can find that on youtube.

  5. markandapril says:

    Hmm, not sure how to correct this Gooders. I’ll look into it when I have more time, since I’m busy eating nuts an watching Friends right now.

    Mark.

Leave a Reply

