Reunited, and it feels so good

Mark just called from Heathrow to let me know that our cats, Jerry and Josie, have passed inspection and are now UK citizens. Having gone 3 months without our feline friends, I can’t wait to see them again!

Their uncles have taken excellent care of them. Josie in particular must have thrived as she has ballooned to a whopping 16.5 pounds. Rubenesque, you might say.

Apparently while both have emerged from the red eye flight unscathed, Jerry is giving a little attitude, refusing both treats and eye contact. How does one win back a cat’s affections?

10 Responses to Reunited, and it feels so good

  1. I don’t normally have much sympathy for cats or cat owners but I feel moved to make an exception in your case 🙂 I would suggest lots of fish to win back their affection… and leave lots of clothes around the house that smell of you and mark (that’ll be nice for everyone else!!)

  2. So are the cats now safely in Thornham?

  3. markandapril says:

    The cats have arrived safe and sound, and are acclimatising nicely so far. Jo-bot did a big poo to celebrate her arrival, and Jerry has been under the bed for the last 12 hours, coming out sporadically to explore and eat – but that’s about it.

    Just need to go and buy some fish now…

    Mark.

  4. yeah they’ll be fine once you get the fish. Keep in touch if you need the van tomorrow. Do it with cars if you prefer so that you can do it yourself and make it a special moment with just the 2 of you. Don’t feel obliged to use my offer, do what suits you best ok?

  5. Pete says:

    Win BACK their affection? No idea – I’m to busy alienating Boo. Weaning her off the bottle is NOT going well at all and she’s getting right stroppy with me.

    Two days to the Big Day! Will be thinking of you guys!

  6. OK, this will be my last message before I go to Germany for the weekend.
    I hope your big day goes well, I’m sure it does.
    I reckon you’re a top couple and I wish you the best of everything for the future.
    Sorry I couldn’t be there. I look forward to seeing the snaps.

    🙂
    marky g

  7. Cathy says:

    here it is 12:25 am in Canada which means that you could likely be already awake and awaiting the unfolding of what is destined to be a wonderful day -the first of your lives together.

    Best wishes from all of us… Arther, Hellmann, Noggin, Earl, Angell, and me with lots of love. Cath

    PS – had my hair cut this week and low and behold realized that we all share the same hair guy – Serge!!!

  8. Pete says:

    it’s 11:15 am in Canada now – thought i’d stop by and wish you guys all my best; have a fantastic day!

    and here are some words of wisdom from President Johnson for Mark:

    “I have learned that only two things are necessary to keep one’s wife happy. First, let her think she’s having her own way. And second, let her have it.”

    Smart man, that LBJ.

    Good for you guys – congratulations! have a forza time in Italy!!

  9. Pete says:

    [one would think i’d be able to correctly spell my blog name. one would be mistaken]

  10. gooooooders says:

    update update update update update update update update update !!

Leave a Reply

