Mark#18 – Trumpton

I used to watch Trumpton (and Chigley, and Camberwick Green) religiously when I was about 5 years old. My Grandad would pick me up from school, we’d get the bus down to his house together, and then I’d watch Trumpton before having a game of scrabble against my Grandma. 

Although it’s not nearly as memorable or catchy as the opening to Bertha, I decided to post the opening to Trumpton because it’s the earliest TV show I can remember watching.

I remember that I used to love the noise of Windy Millers windmill as it turned. And the legendary roll call taken at the firestation “Pugh, Pugh, Barney McGrew, Cuthbert, Dibble, Grub“.

There was something about the show, however, that I always found kind of haunting and a bit spooky. Even watching the opening sequence again today just freaked me out a bit, but I really can’t put my finger on why.

8 Responses to Mark#18 – Trumpton

  1. this is off topic but mark, my new site design went live:
    http://www.markgoodwinpianos.co.uk/

    just gotta get all the photos added now and then I’ll sit back and watch the sales figures rise 🙂

    Seriously though, what you said on the way home from football kinda inspired me to pull my finger out and make this business the best it can be rather than being just good enough. So watch out world, I’m feeling motivated!

  2. markandapril says:

    No kidding, that really is off topic.

    I had a quick peek at the new site. I’ll offer up my thoughts over a cold beer at the house-warming shindig tomorrow.

    Mark.

  3. yooooooner says:

    that

  4. yooooooner says:

    stoopid mobile device. it lost all my text. im not typing all again, my thumbs will seize up

  5. Jill says:

    Mark – keep these coming! Did you ever watch Blue Peter?

  6. markandapril says:

    I would watch Blue Peter from time to time, but it wasn’t really among my must-sees because I found it too wholesome. I certainly never aspired to be a Blue Peter badge holder.

    Mark.

  7. yeah I always groaned at 5pm on Mondays and Thursdays (I think) when it Blue Peter instead of Biker Grove or Grange Hill 🙂

  8. […] Mark is on a retro TV kick. To add to his collection of retro theme songs, I offer a Spanish version (with Mp3 download) of the “Maybe Tomorrow” theme song for 80s classic, The Littlest Hobo, recorded by Luis Paris. And via the magic of YouTube, here is the original: […]

Leave a Reply

